Jeep Peeps, spend my money

Ed Haywood

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Big Ed
I'm getting the itch to buy a 2 door Jeep Wrangler.
I work from home, so I don't drive much on a daily basis. Just 15 miles to the airfield every 2 or 3 days to fly, and occasional errands. I've been driving a beater F150 for about 5 years, but getting bored of that.
I live in Florida, but just bought a second home in the Colorado mountains. Initially we will spend winters there, but I can see summer trips creeping into the mix. That got me thinking it might be cool to have a jeep to go wheeling in the mountains in a few years.
So three questions:
1) buy a 4 year old JL with low mileage, or get a 10 year old JK beater? Cost isn't really a factor, or shouldn't be ... but I'm cheap and like working on cars.
2) get a Rubicon now, even though I probably won't wheel it for several years, or get a sport model and upgrade or mod if I relocate it to Colorado?
3) just how brutal would a trip from FL to CO be in a 2 door Jeep?

Pentastar engines are notorious for cam/lifter wipeout. TJ/4.0 was the last bulletproof combo.

And a 2-door Jeep is miserable on the highway, requires constant correction for wind as the wheelbase is so short.

So my son had a 4-door Renegade while he was at Carson and it was great in the little bit of Forest Roads it hit in the COS area. It hasn’t been the most reliable when it comes to the 12V battery, but it did the job.

I’m not a jeep guy, but took a 2WD F150 in most of the places most Jeeps were going. If you’re looking to go places a Razor or other UTV will go that a truck won’t, a 2-door jeep is the ticket. You’ll want to do some suspension work and beef up the drive train, but the platform will work just fine.

Now, I took my Multistrada places Jeeps and UTVs couldn’t go, but you’ve go to be a moto guy to do that. If we ever moved back, I’d probably pick up a KTM 525XC or an LC4 Adventure for backroading in the summer.