Do I claim PTSD to the VA

U

Undecided

I'm a former military officer who was punitively dismissed. I moved on with life, but in the interim I got divorced, my home was foreclosed and I bounced from job to job. Then I got my life back together.

I got remarried, had children, finally got my pilot certificate, among other things...and I still have my TS clearance.

16 years later, I fought back the tears and applied to have my discharge reviewed. The Board of Corrections agreed with me and removed my Court Martial conviction, punitive discharge, etc. I got backpay and my benefits back, but nothing can replace the lost time and the emotional scars I've dealt with over the years.

Now 2 years into it, I applied to have my injuries reviewed and the VA agreed with some but not all of them as being service connected. The other day, a friend said that I should apply for PTSD related to the way I was treated and the circumstances of my court martial and what happened afterwards.

Friends and family that stuck by me, witnessed me go through a lot of mental anguish, but I don't want to do anything to jeopardize what I've accomplished after military service. I certainly don't want to lose my 3rd class medical (I'm not doing Basic-Med). I never did drugs nor looked for solace in a bottle.

I haven't seen a psych, but I think I can establish a clear chronology of mental anguish and loss because of the mistakes that were made that were "above my pay grade".

I'm interested in what you guys/gals would recommend in my circumstances.

Do you believe you have PTSD? Your post doesn't sound like it. It sounds like you want to do it out of anger and spite which I totally understand because you have lost a lot but if you don't have PTSD don't claim it that would be wrong and likely if not medically disqualifying I imagine there would be MANY hoops and ongoing hoops to jump through.