Aircraft Shoulder Harnesses: Are You Wearing Them Incorrectly?

Lndwarrior

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Gary

I've been flying for 30 years and since I finished my homebuilt 6 years ago, I've been doing exactly this. I'm an idiot.​

Sometimes you know things but you put them in the back of your mind, instead of where they should be. I needed this reminder for me to do this right - and make sure my wife does.​

Thanks for sharing that. My 182 used to have front seat shoulder harnesses mounted on the floor behind the seat. Before I flew it home I had the local mechanic install BAS harnesses that mount in the ceiling.

With retractables like that, lap belt needs to be low and tight across the lap (just like the airline flight attendants say), otherwise retractors tend to pull them up, similar to Cirrus.

For my racecar I used to exhale and cinch those MFers down tight, but that was just a few seconds down the quarter-mile.

Lap belt should be low and tight on the waist. THe shoulder hardnesses should not be yanking up on it.
Also make sure that the belt is straight and untwisted from its attach point. A common failure is that the belt is folded over because the attach has swivelled down. The NTSB showed me a picture of a crash and pointed that out as a cause of the injury/death that came.

For my racecar I used to exhale and cinch those MFers down tight, but that was just a few seconds down the quarter-mile.

In a half-hour (or more) road race, the harness would loosen slightly. When I wasn’t busy, like flat out on a long straight, I’d give the harness a tug or two to keep it cinched as tight as possible.

Lap belt should be low and tight on the waist. THe shoulder hardnesses should not be yanking up on it.

In race cars we use a 5-point or 6-point harness, with one or two anti-submarine straps, to keep the lap belt low across the lap.