What must I carry?

AirCoe

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Chuckup
I'm new to this (or any) forum, so don't know what to expect or if I'm doing this right. I'm also a fairly new private VFR pilot.

Can someone please tell me where I can find the list of documents required in my flight bag? (If this works, I have more questions.)

All that is REQUIRED is:

Pilot:

Pilot's Certificate
Medical Card
Photo ID.

Plane:
Airworthiness Certificate
Registration
POH
Weight and Balance info

I'll break this down to pilot and aircraft...

Pilot:
Pilot certificate
Medical certificate

Aircraft:
Airworthiness certificate
Aircraft registration
Flight manual or operating handbook
Weight and balance data

Both responses have errors.

The POH is not required. The approved flight manual (if it exists) and/or operating limitations are. The difference may sound semantic, but you'll save yourself some trouble flying pre-1977 aircraft that don't have POHs if you understand the difference.

NO handbook at all is required for a 1976 172M. It's real nice if it's there, but the real requirement is that all the placards and markings be in place. Note this means that if some schmuck installs a Cherokee tach in a 172M by mistake (and I've seen this happen -- at least we suspect it came from a Cherokee), it's not airworthy. The green arc is wrong.

You also need a government issued photo ID.

The W&B is not called out directly in the regs, but it's kinda hard to do the required preflight work without it.

International flight also requires a radio station license.

What the first two said.

Third was not picking and causing more confusion.

My old 46' taildragger has a manual, even if it isn't needed you're a idiot for not having it.

Welcome to the forum,most of the answers will be of benefit to you. ,untill the supposed experts check in.

I'm new to this (or any) forum, so don't know what to expect or if I'm doing this right. I'm also a fairly new private VFR pilot.