Can a Sport Pilot get a Glider cert and then a Commercial Glider cert without medicals?

desertrat

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Desert Rat
I'm in my 60's and interested in learning to fly. I have a concern about getting my medical (but NOT with my health), and I don't see flying for any big-time commercial purposes in my future. But I would like to be able to make some money other than as a CFI.

(Forgive me if some of my terminology below is wrong, but I hope what I'm saying is obvious. I'm still learning this stuff.)

OPTION #1: Start as a Sport Pilot

Now I know I can get a Sport Pilot Certification (SPC) and fly Light Sport Aircraft (LSAs) without any sort of medical.

I'm interested in the Pipistrel Sinus Max rated as a Glider / Motor-Glider.

My SPC would allow me to fly any LSA, including the Sinus. What I can't do is fly the Sinus as a Glider -- unless / until I get a Glider add-on to my SPC, right? (This is the approach I'm considering taking, which is why I posted here in this section about Sport Pilots. Maybe this belongs in the Glider section?)

OPTION #2: Start as a Glider pilot

Alternatively, I can start out by getting my Glider certification, then a motor-launch add-on, and then I believe I can also fly the Sinus since it's rated as a Motor Glider, right?

Either way, I'm guessing that the Sinus can do double-duty as both a powered LSA and a Glider: I can fly it around and never shut the motor off, or I can use the motor to find some thermals and then soar around for hours without using the motor at all after that. I don't know if there are any limitations flying a Motor Glider under power that would be different based on having started via the Glider path or the SPC path. I could also get a Sport Pilot add-on to the Glider cert if that matters.