NTSB Identification: ERA11FA414

Jaybird180

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jaybird180
Doing a "normal" NTSB read today and I come across this report: http://www.ntsb.gov/aviationquery/brief.aspx?ev_id=20110723X80555&key=1

I'm not a mechanic so somone please tell me what you make of this. Looks like the pilot was working all the way in. I also don't get the strange altitude clearance and weather report.

R.I.P x 2

Note disclaimer: This is preliminary information, subject to change, and may contain errors

Doing a "normal" NTSB read today and I come across this report: http://www.ntsb.gov/aviationquery/brief.aspx?ev_id=20110723X80555&key=1

I'm not a mechanic so somone please tell me what you make of this. Looks like the pilot was working all the way in. I also don't get the strange altitude clearance and weather report.

R.I.P x 2

Note disclaimer: This is preliminary information, subject to change, and may contain errors

What strange altitude clearance and weather report?

VMC weather(???), yet he's diverting while talking to TRACON (20-30 miles out).

"Strange altitude clearance"?

The "weather reports" were likely unsolicited advisories that should have been interpreted: "Hey dummy! Big Storm here! You may wanna change plans!!"

Perhaps trained Cirrus pilots can chime in whether CAP s/b deployed during engine fire?

VMC weather(???), yet he's diverting while talking to TRACON (20-30 miles out).

The report says the plan was to divert to Valkaria Airport and wait for adverse weather that was then over MLB to move out of the area. Sounds like a good idea to me.

The report said "Visual meteorological conditions prevailed at the time and an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan was filed..."

The report said "Visual meteorological conditions prevailed at the time and an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan was filed..."