nervous

fast99

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
fast99
For those of you who started out nervous how long did it take to calm down. Am over it with the CFI in the plane. Flying solo still has me on edge. This spring and summer hasn't been the best year to learn. Been windy 7 out of 10 days and last week was no exception. Had a long cross-country scheduled. Turned around because the turbulence was more than I felt comfortable with.

Trying this flying thing for fun. CFI says I am a good pilot. Don't know if he says that to everybody. Haven't had a bad landing in at least the last 20. Thinking a few shorter solo flights to a towered airport might help. Any suggestions appreciated.

I think the nerves come from a bit of resignation attitude and thinking you're not ready.

If you're cfi thinks you're ready and can do it. You're ready and you'll be nervous until you do it. I was the same way practicing maneuvers solo. Doing them with the cfi was no big deal. Those steep turns solo had me on edge. Talk yourself up. Done it before, can do it now.

Take those short hops. Not even necessarily at a tower.

Keep flying...
I was nervous, very nervous when I was learning to fly. I was sweating bullets for months during the hot summers. It took me 16 months and 2 hot summers to get my PPL nervous the whole time.
When I got my own plane I was nervous, I flew mostly by myself cause I was nervous.
Now 9 years later and 1500+ hrs I am less nervous than I was and lot's more confidante.
It will pass, keep flying.

Turned around because the turbulence was more than I felt comfortable with.
1. Instead of perceiving your action as solely due to being nervous, re-consider turnaround as ... sound ADM (Aeronautical decision-making).
Good to be conservative for student/low-time pilots; and remember, 'flight decisions for safety reasons' applies through ALL pilot certificate levels.

2. Unknowns may cause nervousness. To reduce/eliminate, more prep can help knowing what-to-expect.