lahso student question

fast99

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
fast99
Did the long solo today. At one of the stops the controller gave me LAHSO instructions. I was just 2 miles out and configured to land when he told me that. Runway was very long [2 miles+]. I probably could have landed without any problems. However, I told the controller I was a student. He changed the runway when I was 1 1/2 miles out. Field had about 10 runways. Not being familiar with that many runways, it completely messed me up. Landed ok on another runway but glad it was a long one. My question, should I have announced when first contacting approach that I was a student? NOT faulting the controllers. After they knew they were dealing with a student everything down and they went above and beyond.

Did the long solo today. At one of the stops the controller gave me LAHSO instructions. I was just 2 miles out and configured to land when he told me that. Runway was very long [2 miles+]. I probably could have landed without any problems. However, I told the controller I was a student. He changed the runway when I was 1 1/2 miles out. Field had about 10 runways. Not being familiar with that many runways, it completely messed me up. Landed ok on another runway but glad it was a long one. My question, should I have announced when first contacting approach that I was a student? NOT faulting the controllers. After they knew they were dealing with a student everything down and they went above and beyond.
I trained at a towered field and only used "student pilot" in my radio calls on a few occasions. Namely the "student pilot, first solo" call out.
I shamelessly used it again on two other occasions when they gave me complex instructions I could not digest.