IFR w/Daughter & Grand Daughter

Terry

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Terry
Hi All:

A few weeks ago I filed IFR from Hays, Kansas to La Junta, Colorado.

I left Hays and because it is so far out Denver couldn't pick me up on the radar and told me to fly V44 airway and report when I reached "X" intersection.

I had learned this in ground school and was totally about to freak out because I wasn't prepared for this kind of IFR navigating. The controller picked up on this, because my read back, wasn't very good, and so I told him I was a new IFR pilot and just nervous. He then calmed me down and helped me out a lot and everything came back to me. After about 5 minutes he cancelled the reporting intersection because he had picked me up on radar. Rest of the trip went well and he was very helpful. Was not handed off to anyone else the entire trip.

Saw La Junta airport and cancelled IFR and landed.

Loaded the plane with 1 big suit case, daughter and 8 year old grand daughter. I had told her a few days before how much weight they could have. Didn't top off the tanks to stay under weight but more than enough fuel for safety.

Took off using 1 notch of flaps because it was hot on the ground. On return trip it was 94* on the ground and at 9,000 feet it was a cool 60*. Got to fly through several clouds and a short time of total IFR.

Needless to say my daughter and grand daughter were excited and loved every minute of it. They flew out with me and stayed a week. The whole week was my grand daughter talking about the clouds.

The flight was smooth, the experience was unforgettable, and I was so glad I had my IR.

The weather was VFR both coming and going but I went out there at 10,000 feet and came back at 9,000 feet. Something I would have never done flying VFR.

If you are a PP and you have considered your IR let me say it is well worth the time and effort. Now when the weather is "IFFY" I file IFR and go.

Smiling Grandpa;

Terry :D