FAA Medical after ER visit due to Syncope

Pilot S.

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Pilot S.
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum. I am currently a private pilot at a collegiate part 141 flight school and am very close to receiving my instrument rating. I had a few questions regarding a medical incident and subsequent ER visit I had.

Back in October, I had an incident where I unexpectedly started feeling nauseous and lightheaded while sitting down and eating dinner with some friends and I ended up passing out. I only passed out for a few seconds and felt fine after drinking some water. My friends then drove me to the ER where I informed the staff that I had passed out. My blood pressure and heart rate were then taken by a nurse. I waited in the ER for a long period of time and I eventually chose to leave the ER without being seen by a doctor since it was getting really late and I was feeling fine.

I recently opened my patient portal with my hospital and saw that my ER visit from October was logged on my medical record and the reason was listed as syncope. It also says in the ER visit record that I had left without being seen after triage. I have no history of passing out prior to this and I haven’t had any incidents since. I’m not sure why I passed out that evening, but I suspect it may have been either due to dehydration since I remember I didn't really drink much water throughout the day prior to dinner, or a reaction to something in the food, though I have no food allergies to my knowledge.