Considering a RV-6A But.......

Mooney Fan

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Mooney Fan
I'm wrapped around the axle on whether or not to buy a homebuilt.

I know these aircraft are reliable and have an excellent safety record.

I'm not certain a risk analysis would conclude the RV6A is more likely to have issues than say a 1967 Piper Cherokee.

I need to start at the VANS forum and see what information I can find there because this plane is tugging at my wallet big time.

Only thing I can think of is gain knowledge to get past the hurdle.

((((sigh)))))

Everything you could want to know about RVs is here:

Unless you REALLY REALLY want the 'experience' of building an airplane, just buy one.

I've been working on my E/AB for 5 years now and its plans built... I enjoy making the parts and figuring things out and adding my own customization... but its very daunting when I realize that I I have to build EVERY SINGLE PART.

AnPs are much 'warmer' (a little) to doing the condition inspection especially on an RV, they are such a known quantity.

RV-6 is a great plane. I've never built one, but flown quite a few. When buying one, find a builder to go with you and look it over. We have some guys in our area that have built several and know what to look for. Especially on the RV-4 & RV-6, there was no quick-build kit, so they took more skill to build and often have more build issues.

I had a few issues with my already done been built (not an RV) but nothing I couldn't fix. I would suggest getting your head underneath the panel and looking at the wiring - nice and neat? More likely a careful builder. Looks like ****? More likely the guy was more focused on getting it done.

And, fwiw, something like a T-18, Tailwind, etc. will get you similar performance without the designer label price.

I'm wrapped around the axle on whether or not to buy a homebuilt.

I know these aircraft are reliable and have an excellent safety record.