Affordable aircraft hiring in MA

Darren17

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Darren H
Hi all!

New user here all the way from South Africa (if anyone knows the local forum Avcom, I'm quite active on there)! I am an exchange student here in Cambridge, MA and I recently completed my 61.75 PPL process. While I don't have boatloads of money (student struggles), I am looking to fly a bit on that license to maintain currency for when I go back home.

I am looking for operators/owners who are renting out relatively cheap-to-operate aircraft, namely C150/152, C172, PA28 (most of my logged hours are in the PA28). I first want to do a flight with a CFI for currency, airspace/operation familiarization, and to cover my bases for the rental. I don't intend to fly too often, maybe once or twice a month, just doing local flights and circuits. Another constraint is not having access to my own car (no point in having one just for a year). As such, my preference is for airports that are in areas with commuter rail service from Boston.

If anyone has suggestions for operators/owners to contact, please let me know!

I don't think you're going to find much directly off the T or commuter rail, but there's a ton a flight schools in the area.
7B3, KBED, KBVY, KLWM, 6B6, 2B2 all have flight training and most likely rentals. I think OWD does as well, and I think its not far from the commuter rail. Might be your best option.

KOWD has several flight schools with the type aircraft you want to rent.

Only airport with T access is KBED. KOWD and KBVY if you’re willing to Uber from the commuter rail maybe. KBVY probably would be the cheapest of those 3, KBED most expensive definitely.