A revolutionary way to fly a helicopter (and soon planes?)

MountainDude

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MountainDude
I hope this approach works for helis and planes of the future.
It's painful to think that, as a private plane pilot, I have to spend months and $20K to become a helicopter pilot, when I can learn to fly a DJI drone in minutes (and have never crashed it).

It's painful to think that, as a private plane pilot, I have to spend months and $20K to become a helicopter pilot, when I can learn to fly a DJI drone in minutes (and have never crashed it).

an aside: wrt crashing a drone, there are those who have . . .

Its not really revolutionary in the big picture as there are existing similar systems now flying in helicopters. Perhaps look into the Jetson 1 as it will give you exactly what you're looking for with no pilot cert required to boot.

My first copy of the DJI mini 2 had a AHRS issue. It’d zoom off randomly but still responding to controls. I figure if I didn’t know how to fly RC heli Id have lost it a few times before I asked for a replacement.

Automation will not remove the training requirement. It might make it harder actually depending on regulations and available redundancy.

An Airbus is pretty computerized and my instructor when he moved from Q400s to the airbus struggled with the systems and training for them. He still say the plane make him feel like an idiot at times.

Meh. This, Next-Gen, and self-driving autos are just software engineers' quest to eliminate the need for pilots and drivers. Just 'cause you CAN do sumthin'... :rolleyes1:

Meh. This, Next-Gen, and self-driving autos are just software engineers' quest to eliminate the need for pilots and drivers. Just 'cause you CAN do sumthin'... :rolleyes1:

"software engineers' quest to eliminate"

haha - still waiting for software engineers to advance the state-of-the-art to really have safe autonomous vehicles out there...