Lewy Body Dementia

Sac Arrow

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Snorting his way across the USA
I've never heard of it before. A very good friend of mine was just diagnosed with it. A cursory Internet search suggests that it's some really bad news. Anyone here have any personal experience with it? As in friends, family members, etc... having this condition?

I guess it's like Alzheimer's but worse as in it hits you harder and kills you quicker. Information I read suggests that affected individuals typically live from five to eight years after diagnosis but some people have lived up to twenty, but incapacitation sets in more quickly.

I'm not exactly sure how to react or respond. I'm not good at this kind of thing. I normally get accused of heartlessness and insensitivity when I address the subject of mortality. And in the past from her specifically regarding the passing of family members.

We have a very close friend who has been suffering from Parkinson’s for several years. He has recently been diagnosed with Levy Body Dementia, an often seen accompanying symptom. So not only is his body failing him, his mind is as well.

He’s 68.

Life’s often not fair......

Dang. That sucks. I once said something about someone that came down with dementia. The guy I was talking to had some very hard life experiences to draw on and said, “Don’t feel bad for him. For him every day is a new day.” It’s a cold world out there.

About all you can do is help where you can, and be thankful for the time together that you had.

My uncle had Lewy Body…Initial symptoms that got him to the doctor were things like he couldn’t remember how to swallow (drinking with a straw helps), couldn’t figure out how to swing his arms when he walked. I don’t remember a lot of the details, as I wasn’t around the area much anymore, but there are apparently certain markers that show up earlier in life that indicate the possibility, and my cousin displays some of those.