Recommendations on ADS-b receiver

jd21476

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
jd21476
I have been using a Stratus 2S for a few years but it is slowly dying. I keep it mounted in my plane and plugged into the cigarette port so it is always ready.

I want to replace it and do the same. I have been looking at the Stratux and the Stratus 3. I havent looked into the Sentry yet.

What does everyone use and like? Why?

I use a Garmin GDL50 and I love it. Long battery life, easy connect to my Garmin Pilot app (on two devices simultaneously) and I'm fairly certain it works on ForeFlight as well. It uses bluetooth as opposed to the WiFi connection which is important to me. Three different variations to choose from depending on your needs. I couldn't justify the extra cost for the XM capability. I just wanted a good ADS receiver. In my experience it receives very well when sitting on the dash. It will also provide flight data for e-logs and can be used to provide artificial horizon/instrument data although I wouldn't recommend relying on that unless you're REALLY screwed in the clouds. My only gripe with the GDL50 is that they still use the old micro-USB connectors which are notorious for wearing out and breaking. I plug mine in very delicately.

If permanently installed in the plane (package comes with wire harness) it will turn itself on and off automatically, thus eliminating the need for the use of the micro-USB.

Garmin GDL Series

Don't bother buying the portable friction mount accessory. I did and I never use it. The GDL has non-skid on the bottom of it and it works just fine, even during steep turns...and hard landings...so my friend says. :smilewinkgrin:

Ill have to look into the GDL50. I never heard of it before. I like everything you said as long as it works with Foreflight because thats what I use.