Perscription Impact on Evaluation

• Thread starter ProspectivePilotTrainee
  • Start date
P

ProspectivePilotTrainee

I'm a US college student looking into recreational flight as a hobby. I have been on a stable dose of fluoxetine since Summer 2020, but in late October of this year I expressed concerns regarding seasonal depression to my new PCP and was prescribed buspirone. Since then, I rarely took the medication as prescribed (many days of only one dose) and haven't refilled the prescription. However, since then my state has improved, which I attribute to better exercise routines and eating habits, so I've stopped taking buspirone and informed my doctor's office.

I've thought about getting into piloting in the past, which is why I switched my SSRI to Fluoxetine (diagnosis of MDD). However, COVID-19 dissuaded me from entering the industry professionally, and I'm only just now looking into entering recreationally. I know based of my history I will need to see a HIMS and have 6 months of treatment without side effects, but I just read applicants must not have a history of "Multi-agent drug protocol use (prior use of other psychiatric drugs in conjunction with SSRIs.)" Is there a real likelihood I will not be able to receive a (third-class) medical certification as a result of this?

If you didn’t apply for a medical yet, you’re still eligible to get a sport pilot license.

If you’re eligible at all for a class 3 medical, it will be very expensive and take a long, long time. As @Salty says, Sport Pilot is an option for you and it doesn’t require a medical, just a driver’s license.

Since you only want to fly recreationally, go for Sport.

If you’re eligible at all for a class 3 medical, it will be very expensive and take a long, long time. As @Salty says, Sport Pilot is an option for you and it doesn’t require a medical, just a driver’s license.

Since you only want to fly recreationally, go for Sport.

Especially with the upcoming MOSAIC changes coming.