New G1000 pilot - what else do I need?

Timetofly

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
TimetoFly
I'm just getting started in a spanking new 2014 Mirage fully equipped with a G1000, weather radar, etc. This is my first experience with the G1000 (go through training in 2 weeks). I'm thinking of getting one of the flight planning/navigation apps (most likely WingX, ForeFlight or Garmin Pilot). I don't have the hardware yet, so I can go with Apple or Andriod (though I'm predisposed to dislike Apple, I'll buy it if it's the best platform). My question is, with all the capabilities of the G1000, what else do I really need in the cockpit? Since I have Garmin avionics, I'm inclined to go with GP as I expect there will be continuity among products (not to mention compatibility).

I'd love to hear what other G1000 pilots are using.

Thanks for the input, and Happy New Year!

I went with GP on a Nexus 7 with Garmin's ADS-B antenna, and have been cussing it ever since. Seamless bluetooth hookup my ass. Maybe 20% of the time. Forget looking at it in sunlight.

If I had it to do all over again, it would be apple. Besides, most everything comes out for them first.

I just sent the ADS-B antenna back to Garmin today for an exchange because mine died. It would not power up at all. Garmin support did it so fast on the phone with no questions, it lead me to believe it's a common problem. I bought a 696 and plan to run the ADS-B on it with an adaptor. The 696 is readable in all light conditions. I like it.

My question is, with all the capabilities of the G1000, what else do I really need in the cockpit?
Get simple application with maps/charts/flight planning (I am a chart nut and I like eKneeBoard) as a reference/backup but having G1000 I would not be doing GP navigation looking at Android or Ipad. :no:

I have all the iPad apps and goodies. But when I fly a G1000, they stay in the flight bag. The G1000 has everything I could ever need and probably will for you, too.