NA Where's my coolant going?

Lindberg

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Lindberg
I have a 2007 Toyota Matrix. When I had it inspected in March, the guy pointed out the coolant reservoir was empty. Since then, is been empty a couple of times, and I've put about a gallon and a half of coolant in.

My car's never overheated, but when the coolant is gone, the heat gauge does creep higher than usual.

No obvious leaks, nothing on the driveway, no unusual exhaust. So where's the coolant going?

I’ve had TINY little leaks that only leaked under pressure and where they vaporized immediately.

Could *sorta* smell coolant now and then. Eventually led me to residue. Was a bugger to figure out.

Also had them in a heater core which had same symptoms. Run your heater and see if you can smell coolant.

I'm not a mechanic, but had a similar problem with a 2008 Ranger.

My problem turned out to be a cracked thermostat housing. Undetected for a long time because it only leaked at a certain temperature, then the coolant evaporated before having time to drip, or show evidence on the motor itself.

~David C.

There is a dye available at most auto parts stores that glows under an ultraviolet light made specifically to find these types of “mystery” leaks. It leaves a residue even if the coolant immediately flashes off. Put it in, then next time the reservoir is low shine a light on the engine. If nothing shows on the outside it might be burning it up (head gasket, microporous leaks in the head itself, etc.) also keep a close eye on your oil. Is it higher than it should be, or milky…

Coolant leaks can be a real bear. Over the years I’ve had a cracked reservoir, a bad head gasket (two of them), cracked radiator, leaking coolant line O-ring, leaky water pump… most would leave