My new pin

steingar

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
steingar
I keep a set of sectionals attached to a board out in the hall, and every time I land a new airport, I put a pin in it. I got a new one yesterday, for the first time in a long while. 1G1, Elyria, which I landed to go see a cousin who lives in Eastern Cleveland.

In a way I put this in the exact wrong forum. I flew right over the strip without seeing it, something I haven't done since I was a student pilot. It is really, really easy to loose in the trees if you don't know what you're looking for. There was little more at 1G1 than a self-serve fuel pump. One other guy landed while I was there to pick up fuel. The FBO was closed on a holiday with the most beautiful weather we've seen in awhile. No where to sit, or off load spent liquid fuel. The place looked dodgy, and the neighborhood around it not much better. I doubt I will be returning.

I made a really good decision taking off. The apron and everything else (what there is of it) lies at one end of the strip. I thought about taking off downwind, so I didn't have to back-taxi on the runway (no taxi ways, at least none running the runway length). But I thought about the high density altitude (the temp was in the mid-nineties, with lots of humidity), the heavy loading of the aircraft (I had just filled it with gas), and the relatively short (3K feet) runway. I did the back taxi, and was very glad of it. Even taking off into the wind, the takeoff was suspenseful. I really, really, don't like trees in the windshield.

It was so hot, I came into my downwind at my home drome at about 5K feet after overflying the nearby class Charlie. Pulled power, put in a notch of flaps, and put it into a slip. I was on the glideslope on base. Gotta love Cherokees. Landed downwind, but with 5K feet of runway I wasn't too worried about overshooting. Actually got blown right where I wanted to be.