Getting frustrated trying to find access to an airplane in San Antonio

softtower

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Softtower
Hey all,

I am a student pilot, loving this board. As a long time lurker, but - after months of googling for answers to my growing list of questions - this is my first posting, hoping to hear some encouraging bits of info.

Here's my situation: I've been dreaming about being able to fly an airplane all my life. I've started my training to get a PPL about a month ago. After the knowledge test, a bit of flying and ground school (while keeping a day job) I am going to a flying school full time, 8am to 6pm every day, hoping to get my private license in about 5 weeks.

As I've started implementing the plan, I've been looking for solutions to my "next generation" problem, namely: where do I get access to an airplane to fly?

I live in San Antonio. I found exactly two groups that could be remotely called "flying clubs". Both can be best described as "six guys and a single 1972 Cessna". Not to offend them, and this isn't something everybody agrees to, but my belief is to avoid old hardware. I can get into this in depth, but it's not the central point to answering my situation: I do not want to fly that.

As far as I can tell, there are no opportunities to rent planes around here (San Antonio). My flying school uses excellent, brand new C172s but they don't rent them out.

What other options are out there for me?

Here's my mission/personal profile:

I can afford to spend up to $500K on a plane but I'd prefer someone more knowledgeable about maintenance to own it. I'd be happy to pay $20-30k per year to just having access and flying, not having to worry about maintenance or headaches of selling. An engineer in me also believes that the planes are made to fly, not to sit: therefore my own hours won't be enough workload to keep it in good shape, I can see maybe 80 hours a year.