Foreflight on Android or Windows?

jnmeade

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jim Meade
I don't necessarily want to do what the subject line says, but it does speak to my question - is there a way to run iOS on Windows or Android or to run Android on Windows?

Preferably on a tablet or laptop.

TIA

I don't necessarily want to do what the subject line says, but it does speak to my question - is there a way to run iOS on Windows or Android or to run Android on Windows?

TIA

No.

You can run IOS on Mac, but not in the way you want to. You can run IOS on a tablet though. Get an iPad. :goofy:

Impossible. ForeFlight would be smart to write an android version, but we'll see. I'd love to ditch my iPad for a nexus 7 and FF is the only thing in my way.

Garmin Pilot is another. There are quite a few.

None are as good as FF, but they are a lot closer than a year ago.

As an app developer, I'm guessing that the reason FF hasn't done an Android version is:

1) IOS users are *far* more willing to pay for apps.
2) IOS dominates tablet sales in the US (where most pilots are) for what I'll loosely call "real tablet users". i.e. not ebook readers, not tablets that are junk. At this point I really only put Nexus 7 out there as a competitor to iPad. This will surely change.
3) It's *tons* more expensive to develop for android because there are so many different devices out there.

Check out Avare. Free but not extremely user friendly. Better than it was a couple months ago. I am not at the xc stage yet so it may make more sense then.

Check out Avare. Free but not extremely user friendly. Better than it was a couple months ago. I am not at the xc stage yet so it may make more sense then.

Avare is an amazing value, but it requires manually choosing charts in clunky manner.

TIA

Check with Parallels or VMWare.

Anywhere map Freedom for Android.

An Asus TF700 beats any I thingy any day in my view.

Garmin Pilot is another. There are quite a few.