Florida trip

midlifeflyer

Touchdown! Greaser!
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Fly
Yeah, I know this topic comes up from time to time and there was one one airports recently. Hopefully this is different and specific enough to justify a new thread.

My wife and I are planning a Florida trip to visit friends and family. Planned stops are in the Jacksonville, Boca Raton/Fort Lauderdale, and Tampa/St Pete areas.

Airport and FBO recommendations wanted. Availability of FBO-arranged lodging and transportation a plus.

For Jacksonville I would use saint Augustine,if you want to be in Jacksonville I would use grain field. I have always been treated great at fee fort lauded ale executive. Albert whited in at Pete is a friendly airport in the middle of st pete. For st petes beach you can use Clearwater airport.

I have had some pleasant experiences at Tampa Executive. I also like Whited and had a good experience at Fort Lauderdale Executive.

Depends where in Jacksonville you want to end up. There are several nice airports in the Jax area. Jacksonville is such a sprawling city that you can easily spend 45 minutes going across town. If you're going downtown or to the beaches area, CRG is convenient. I like Craig Air Center. The catch at CRG is that the two FBOs have relatively high full serve prices, and each operates self serve pumps at much lower prices near the other's location. If you're going to the west side, either Herlong or Cecil are good airports. St. Augustine is a nice airport, but may be very far away from your destination, depending on where that is.

If it's just a fuel stop, then St. Augustine hands down.

Gas is VERY expensive here at BCT but we are always happy to have visitors that AREN'T from NJ or NY !

KHEG in jax. No frills but great airport

42J Keystone Heights fuel today was $4.10, nice FBO, free crew car and plenty of restaurants around.

Gas is VERY expensive here at BCT but we are always happy to have visitors that AREN'T from NJ or NY !