Flight Bag

ScottB

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ScottB
I have been looking around and I am having a hard time deciding on a good flight bag. Sporty's is suppose to have a good one, but I read reviews saying the compartment is tight for headsets. They specifically mentioned the David Clark's which I have. Seems strange that they couldn't get that right; they are one of the more popular headsets sold.

Can anyone give me some solid choices? I am a student pilot, so I don't need room for a ton of stuff, but I want a good one and something I can grow into.

Brightline. The basic one will do for now, but it's expandable. Holds everything and does it well. Very well constructed. www.brightlinebags.com

I used the $10 Jeppesen bag that came with my books until a month ago. I realized it was too small, so I just got a duffel bag out of my closet and am using that now. Along with a headset bag I got from AOPA for joining (this fits my DC's perfectly, along with my logbook and some charts), the bag fits the bill perfectly. Plenty of room for everything I need... Do yourself a favor and don't spend an hour's worth of flight time on a bag that has wings on it. You'll be much better served using something you likely already have.

Pickup a sturdy backpack. It'll hold everything, easy to carry, doesn't scream "STEAL ME, I've got lots of expensive stuff in here!", and you can use it for other purposes. And, it's considerably cheaper than any thing marketed for aviation.

Pickup a sturdy backpack. It'll hold everything, easy to carry, doesn't scream "STEAL ME, I've got lots of expensive stuff in here!", and you can use it for other purposes. And, it's considerably cheaper than any thing marketed for aviation.

Not a bad idea .... I guess being it is meant for aviation, it automatically costs more. LOL