Back and forth with Okie

A

anon

Last spring I tried to renew my 3rd class med. I'm a private pilot but not flying these days but hope to resume in the future and possibly fly countries where basic med won't work.

I was on the East Coast staying with family at the time and decided to get a new glasses/contacts script since my right eye seemed a little weak. Got new script and made appointment with a local AME.

At AME office I couldn't pass the vision tests with my right eye at all. He sent me back to the doctor that gave me the script who filled out the proper forms - with which the AME decided I was passing and sent me on my way with a Med.

Two months later, I'm back on the West Coast where I get a letter from the FAA requesting more information due to the eye doctor's mention of macular degeneration on the paperwork they received. They requested a visual field test.

I took this information to my regular (West Coast) ophthalmologist in June where he proceeded to do a battery of tests and concluded that the real concern was cataract formation on both eyes with the right eye distance vision reduced to 20/80 best corrected. My left eye is 20/30 and with both I see 20/30. We discussed cataract surgery but I'm only 45 and my insurance will not cover it so I am opting to wait a little bit longer, especially since I don't fly right now. Obviously, my vision is not to FAA standards so I expect a denial letter, which I could rectify after cataract surgery.

I sent all the information to the FAA on the advice of the AME and waited. Got another letter in September from OK stating that they were forwarding the information to their in-house ophthalmologist for a decision.