Saratoga FG vs RG?

jmpoplin

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
NCFlyer
Gents,
I am new to PoA and am interested in getting a Toga sometime in the future. For all those owners, are there major differences between FG and RG versions? Specifically I guess I am asking about maintenance costs (plus require maintenance), cost of an annual, recurrency requirements for insurance?

Additionally looking for the standard performance differences like gph at cruise, speed, useful load differences.

Thanks!

P.S. Any votes for a turbo vs non-turbo? My trips will be around 500-600nmish.

First, welcome to PoA -- hope you enjoy the experience!

The extra maintenance and annual inspection costs aren't particularly large -- budgeting an extra $5/hour should more than cover that. Likewise, I've not seen any significant additional annual recurrency requirements for RG vs FG at this level (less than cabin-class). The biggest difference will be insurance cost, where RG's typically run on the order of $1000 more a year, or more if you lack prior RG time.

On the performance side, since they have the same engine, fuel flow for the same cruise power setting should be the same, although you should expect about 15 knots more speed with the RG at the same power setting. Useful load generally goes down 50-100 lb due to the extra weight of the RG system.

As for turbocharging, the question is where you're going. If you're headed for high country, the turbocharging is nice to have. Otherwise, I think it adds a lot of costs (higher maintenance, shorter TBO) without giving you a lot of operational advantage.

The overall cost per mile of travel will be less with the RG.

The overall cost per mile of travel will be less with the RG.
That depends on how many trips are flown per year. The more trips flown, the greater the advantage to the RG, but there is an initial advantage to the FG due to the lower fixed costs (lower annual and insurance costs).

Welcome aboard!