Robinson 12 year calendar timeout?

Kevin Eggert

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Kevin
I've read a couple contradictory things about the Robinson R22, R44, R66 TBO requirements. I've read several places that the TBO on pretty much everything is 2200 hrs or 12 calendar years. I've also seen the R44 Maintenance Manual which lists out individual components' maximnum service life as showing 2200 hours on everything with only the main and tail rotor blades having the 12 year limitation. If anyone has actual knowledge of how it works, could you possibly clear this up. I'm just getting started in the helicopter world, and would like to learn a bit more.

I think that the long and short of it is that if you want to get your moneys worth, you will have to be using it in a flight school, pipeline patrol or other high hour operation, so that you don’t leave any hours unflown at the end of the twelve years. It’s generally as simple as that.

I went through this when helping my son in law move into the helicopter world.
I've read a couple contradictory things about the Robinson R22, R44, R66 TBO requirements. I've read several places that the TBO on pretty much everything is 2200 hrs or 12 calendar years. I've also seen the R44 Maintenance Manual which lists out individual components' maximnum service life as showing 2200 hours on everything with only the main and tail rotor blades having the 12 year limitation. If anyone has actual knowledge of how it works, could you possibly clear this up. I'm just getting started in the helicopter world, and would like to learn a bit more.

I've read a couple contradictory things about the Robinson R22, R44, R66 TBO requirements. I've read several places that the TBO on pretty much everything is 2200 hrs or 12 calendar years.