Part Time CFI

PiperPilot1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PiperPilot1
Hello Everyone,

I am a new commercial pilot and figured Id post here looking for some advice. I have 500TT and just completed one season at my first job. I currently have a COMM ASEL and instrument rating, no multi or CFI. However, I am looking at getting my CFI and CFII and instructing. I think It would be a logical next step, and I feel like I would really enjoy it, and hopefully learn a lot also. I wanted to ask, though, about scheduling and working as a free lance CFI. I have access to multiple flying clubs and FBOs (where I did my training) and would try and instruct part 61 at one of these places and not for a 141 school...but, Im looking for a somewhat flexible schedule where I can pursue competitive sports part time. Would this be possible or kosher as a CFI to say work 4 days a week (i.e. friday-tuesday) and have 3 days off a week? Im pretty sure it would be fine, but figured Id ask some more experienced CFIs first. Even at a small mom and pop FBO or flying club, I dont know if they would be ok with a part time CFI. What say you more experienced CFIs?
Thanks!

Hello Everyone,