Neuropsychological Tests

PidgeonNY

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PidgeonNY
Hey everyone,

I posted earlier looking for Neurophysiologists in the NY area and I thank you for all the comments and the help I received. I received a letter from FAA requesting additional information in order to approve (hopefully not deny) my 1st class medical, to make the story short I am HIV positive and it's my first time applying, I has always been my dream to fly and at my 37 years I decided to finally do it.

Just to expose a little about my experience, there is only 3 neurophysiologists recognized by the FAA in the New York City and close surrounding areas which are nearly impossible to connect with. I was on a rush to fulfill the requirements for the enrolling in the school (they accepted me with the certification that the AME sent the regular exams), I also accepted a loan for my classes and for those who don't know the interests are up the roof, I am also a resident so I had to go through TSA clearance and this has an expiration date, luckily the FAA knows all the doctors have waiting lists so they grant extensions to send the results.

All the doctors that I contacted, even further north in the state a side from, don't perform the CogScreen anymore so I have to go through the battery of tests that the FAA has listed on their secure portal. I was able to get an appointed for this month and I hope I do good in the test, they say you don't need preparation but who know.

All the fees were really high from $4000 as base up to $5300.

If any of you has any information or tips for the tests I would be really grateful!

I will also keep the feed posted on any information for anyone in the future that has questions about this particular issue. This a sensitive subject with a lot of stigma and a very personal.

Thank you!

Last edited:
If any of you has any information or tips for the tests I would be really grateful!