Need YAK 52 advice.

travalab

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
travalab
Im looking to buy a Yak 52. The plane is located in Tenn. I am in Ma. Thats the first concern, I have never owned an aircraft before and I am not sure how to go about buying, more so when its so far away. I was also hoping that I could find someone local to train me in the thing and give advice on how to maintain it. Also I am assuming I will need a 3rd party to inspect it before I make an offer/go see it personally. Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated.
I look forward to any knowledge I will receive!

Thanks
Travis

Ummmm......

If you're serious, I'd start by taking lessons in something like a C-172. I think the Yak 52 is going to be a bit much for a first time student.

I have my PPL, granted I only have 60hrs. Im not a total newbie.

lol I know Im a newbie I was just pointing out that I have been in a cockpit before.

You should hook up with your local IAC chapter, there are some good people up in your area. www.iac.org

There are a number of Yak pilots in the US that you can go to for training, however since it's an experimental exhibition, it can't be used in a commercial operation. The IAC will hook you up.

As far as insurance, I highly suggest contacting Northwest Insurance Group, www.nwinsurance.net, they have good programs for aerobatic airplanes.

Last edited:
Hit send too soon...

And you will want to talk to an insurance broker before buying the airplane since you are low hours. You will take a hit.

The -52 is considered a high performance and complex aircraft. Not to mention the radial engine. While it was designed specifically for the neophyte, the insurance companies look at it differently.

I figured I would get hit on the insurance. I requested a quote from a couple of places online. I will call the people at the Northwest Insurance Group tomorrow. Thanks for the advice.

Travis