Mechanical E6B

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
As a student, I'm looking at everything with a fresh perspective. One of the neatest gadgets I've played with is the mechanical E6B. I may be one of the few people around that remembers the 'real live' slide rules, and the E6B capabilities just keep surprising me.

I got curious about how/when/where it was invented and have started looking into the history.

Does anybody have an 'old' one? How have they changed over the years? I'm curious as to how many originals still exist and how to find one.

Thanks,

Matt

The old "whiz wheel", as I've heard it called, has been around at least since WWII - so I've been told.

Mine is 25 years old. I've forgotten how to use it

Jim

I think the wheel is a very cool little tool. I used it through most of my training for my PPL until I got flustered during my DIVERSION exercise and opted for the sporty's e6b. It was easier to use and gave me what I needed quicker. ESPECIALLY when working on my XC NAV LOGS. I did my first few with the wizwheel and knocked off about 40 minutes of prep time when I went to the electronic version. I am glad I started off with it so I could learn the basics of it. But when I need to do something today I always use the electronic e6b.

I saw a VERY OLD one on display behind glass when I went to http://www.museumofaviation.com (been there a few times) and saw how beat up it was. I think it was metal. Made me appreciate what the people years ago in that era did to get their *figures* in aviation.

I have a metal one (aluminum) that belonged to my father that was made in the mid 1970's. Still has the manual and original pouch to.

glpilot said: