Low Testosterone

L

LowT

I've been diagnosed with low testosterone. It's not shocking - I'm not as young as I used to be. I'm also fairly new to flying, so I haven't seen or heard a lot about it from other pilots. Google searches make me think it'll be a non-issue, but but I've found very little about it that's definitive. I'm assuming there are plenty of pilots who have the same issue and keep flying?

My real question is this: I got these lab results a few days ago, and am due for my medical in a couple of weeks. Am I correct in thinking that I should delay going back to the doctor to discuss treatment and get a prescription until afterI get my medical? I've heard that sometimes it can take a little while to get the dosage right, and I'd rather have 6 months to do that in consultation with my doctor, not my doctor and the FAA.

Anything I'm not thinking of here?

I've been diagnosed with low testosterone. It's not shocking - I'm not as young as I used to be. I'm also fairly new to flying, so I haven't seen or heard a lot about it from other pilots. Google searches make me think it'll be a non-issue, but but I've found very little about it that's definitive. I'm assuming there are plenty of pilots who have the same issue and keep flying?

My real question is this: I got these lab results a few days ago, and am due for my medical in a couple of weeks. Am I correct in thinking that I should delay going back to the doctor to discuss treatment and get a prescription until afterI get my medical? I've heard that sometimes it can take a little while to get the dosage right, and I'd rather have 6 months to do that in consultation with my doctor, not my doctor and the FAA.

Anything I'm not thinking of here?