KSZP (Santa Paula) Pireps

ircphoenix

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
ircphoenix
Hey party people.

Heading up to Ventura this weekend. Santa Paula seems to be the closest to our destination and we have friends that live near there.

I have limited experience with uncontrolled fields, and it seems like all the noise abatement procedures at SZP are a pain in the butt for those unfamiliar with them.

Now Camarillo (CMA) and Oxnard (OXR) are only about 5 minutes further from our destination than Santa Paula. Am I better off going to one of those to not have to deal with remembering the procedures at SZP?

Last edited:
SZP is not a pain at all. In fact, it's a great little airport!

Winds typically favor 22. If coming from the east thru the valley, just fly upwind at 1500 and then after turning crosswind (about a mile from departure end) begin descent down to 800 for the downwind leg. Keep an eye out for traffic. There are NORDO planes around there.

SZP is not a pain at all. In fact, it's a great little airport!

Winds typically favor 22. If coming from the east thru the valley, just fly upwind at 1500 and then after turning crosswind (about a mile from departure end) begin descent down to 800 for the downwind leg. Keep an eye out for traffic. There are NORDO planes around there.

It's the NORDO planes that make me nervous.

It's the NORDO planes that make me nervous.

Looking for NORDO planes is no different than looking for planes in unexpected places at controlled airports. Personally, I've had more issues with the latter than the former.

It says night operations are prohibited... soooooo.... night is 1 hour after sunset, right? No weird rules regarding night there, yes?