Getting flight following - final destination or next waypoint?

mikegreen

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
mike g.
I'm heading to the Beloit area from Dayton tomorrow, most likely I73-MIE-JOT-44C

When I call up Dayton approach after departing I73, what is my destination? Do I say VFR to 44C, via MIE and JOT? Or just VFR to 44C?

Up until now, I've always just gone direct via the GPS... but I need to get around Chicago Bravo...

thanks,

Mike

You can do it both ways...not sure how Chicago controllers are, but if you just give your destination, they may clear you through the Bravo if conditions and workload permit.

When I was a student and early private pilot circumnavigating the Boston B (going from Rhode Island to Maine, I would often tell them I was going via BED, because I knew there was no way I was going to get cleared through the Bravo there.

I see nothing wrong with just stating the destination. When you're VFR ATC is mainly just going to observe your flight, not worry about the exact route you're flying unless you appear to be headed towards a traffic or airspace conflict, or wandering inexplicably away from the general direction of your destination. Those would most likely prompt a radio call, if workload permits.

You can do it both ways...not sure how Chicago controllers are, but if you just give your destination, they may clear you through the Bravo if conditions and workload permit.

When I was a student and early private pilot circumnavigating the Boston B (going from Rhode Island to Maine, I would often tell them I was going via BED, because I knew there was no way I was going to get cleared through the Bravo there.

Hah! No way will he be cleared through the O'HARE Class Bravo unless it's after about 11PM.

Also be sure you have CURRENT charts. The O'Hare Class Bravo EXPANDED YESTERDAY!