Garmin vs. Foreflight

Brian Fraser

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
BSFraser
Hi All!

So with my Cessna Kit I received Garmin Pilot free for one year and I'm just getting into cross countries and wanted to run either Garmin Pilot or Foreflight side by side so I'm learning both the paper way and electronic but clearly focusing on paper.

A few questions. It appears based on what I've seen that Foreflight is more robust than Garmin so long term is it better to just bite the bullet and pay for foreflight so I'm not switching after Garmin expires?

How did you learn Garmin or Foreflight? I can't seem to figure out how to open the downloaded sections and terminal charts.

Any other advice would be welcomed!

Thanks,

Brian

I can't speak for Garmin Pilot, but on ForeFlight, just open the "Maps" and you can see the downloaded sectionals/TAFs. Remember that you can see all sectionals if connected to the internet, but only those that were downloaded on a stand alone iPad or iPhone. The iPhone interface is a little different in layout because the phone has a smaller screen.

There are people that use the Garmin products and they'll be around soon with more answers.

Cessna kit?
Student pilot?

I wouldn't bother with any of that till you get your ticket, you'll be better off

Cessna kit?
Student pilot?

I wouldn't bother with any of that till you get your ticket, you'll be better off
This.

I've used both and I prefer Foreflight.

I have used both but not anymore.

Occasionally I give them a fresh look but nothing pulls me back in.