Do's and don'ts

R

Rene

I am a female HS student in the USA who wishes to obtain a PPL as soon as I don't need anyone's permission. I have read "horror stories" about people who have been tripped up obtaining a medical. Yes, my high school hands out Methylphenidate like the Wehrmacht . . . and, well, there is also a whole lot of illicit drug use by those who've already given up. TBH I haven't seen a doctor or dentist in I don't know how long, but I'd rather wait a little while until I get to make those decisions.

If I want a career in aviation what should I do and more importantly not do, medically speaking, to help ensure that I'm not the cause of being rejected.

You said your school hands these out all the time, but you didn't say if you use them or not. Methylphenidate is a disqualifier for an FAA medical. You need to see if any drugs you are taking are flagged by the FAA. The quick and cheap way to see is simply do an online search for the drug followed by FAA. Another way is to join AOPA and ask their medical experts for advice. The cost is reasonable and might save you a lot of time and energy down the road. Hope this helps

I am a female HS student in the USA who wishes to obtain a PPL as soon as I don't need anyone's permission. I have read "horror stories" about people who have been tripped up obtaining a medical. Yes, my high school hands out Methylphenidate like the Wehrmacht . . . and, well, there is also a whole lot of illicit drug use by those who've already given up. TBH I haven't seen a doctor or dentist in I don't know how long, but I'd rather wait a little while until I get to make those decisions.

If I want a career in aviation what should I do and more importantly not do, medically speaking, to help ensure that I'm not the cause of being rejected.
I would be asking why the school is dispensing drugs without a prescription. Are they now doctors and pharmacists?

If you are healthy now, just stay that way.