cost to travel biweekly by Cessna 421

jvwordsmith

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
jvwordsmith
Hello all
I am not a pilot, I am a business writer. One of the stories I'm working on happens to include a [fictional] Calgary couple who are about to retire and want to commute to Arizona biweekly from November through April of each year. Would anyone be able to set me straight about the operating costs for the trip or the costs maintain and fly each year? This is based on:
1. They buy 1/8 of a Cessna 421 (1979-1985 or thereabouts) with the range to fly non-stop. Est. cost: $60,000
2. fuel and insurance to cover newly trained pilots (100 hours exp.)
3. 13 round trips over 6 months, Nov thu April, calgary to phoenix (1900mi x 2)
4. Two passengers most of the time
5. 1/8 share of hangar, maintenance and other costs
6. assumes the plane needs no overhauls:)
7. If this is totally too much plane for their needs, would you be able to suggest an alternative
I totally get it if no one has the time to reply to any and all of these. Just taking a chance.
Cheers,
J.

Is that fact that they are recently trained ( the 100 hour part ) important to the story? That much plane is way more then a 100 hour pilot would get and likely would not be insurable. I'm assuming the story involves them commuting and spending a fair amount of time in Arizona. That would likely be a problem with a 1/8 share. If they stay for a week ( or 5 days with a travel day at each end ) your looking at using the plane about 1/4 of the year but they are only buying 1/8. Not likely to happen in the real world. As for cost the fuel burn on a 421 is 40 gallons per hour at a cruise of 210 knots so figure about 9 hours flight time each way. 9 x 40 = 360 gallons at 6.00 = 2160. Furhter digging on the plane says your going to stop for fuel along the way so up the cost to 2300 in fuel and time to 10 hours.

I would do more but got to finish cooking dinner