Any other GeoCachers here?

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
Hey y'all. I have been geocaching for a little over 3 years now, and it occurred to me that this could be a fun thing to do while flying. Anyone here geocache, and if so, anyone fly to the caches?

If you don't know what it is, check out http://www.geocaching.com

Liz and myself geocache when we get the chance, and I've mentioned to her that I'd like to fly out to some places where there's some nice caches... but so far no go.

We're "MINI Motoring Geocachers" on the geocaching website.

Thank goodness I'm not the only 'nerd' out there. :yes:

A lady/girl that my wife works with mentioned geocaching at a meeting and it sounded interesting, so we checked out the website when we got home. That afternoon we went to Scheel's to get a handheld GPS.

That was about 3 weeks ago. So far, we've only done 4-5 'hunts', but loved EVERY one of them. When my wife told the lady that we had started and that we also fly, she said "You'll be PERFECT for moving Travel Bugs!"

We're "TwoJoneses" on geocaching.com.

-Chris

SkyHog said:
Hey y'all. I have been geocaching for a little over 3 years now, and it occurred to me that this could be a fun thing to do while flying. Anyone here geocache, and if so, anyone fly to the caches?

Could anyone reccomend an entry level GPS that would strictly be used for geocaching?

Thanks,

Purdue

Yes Purdue - I use a Sport Trak. They're really inexpensive now. I also have a Garmin E-Trex Vista. It is also slick and getting cheaper.

Both will work fine for entry level geocaching.

purdue1014 said:
Could anyone reccomend an entry level GPS that would strictly be used for geocaching?

Thanks,

Purdue

We got the Garmin eTrex Legend at a sporting goods store for around $170 if I remember correctly. So far, on 4 'hunts', it has done everything we needed it to.

-Chris