Aerobatic Q

Richard

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ack...city life
I been thinkin agin. It seems whenever the pilot who is flying pulls or pushes a couple Gs the pax gets kinda queasy. Nevermind that the pax is a rated pilot and the maneuvers have been briefed beforehand.

With that in mind, what allowances doesthe aerobatic instructor make when it's the student is on the stick? Does the instructor ever take his hands off the controls? Does an increased G tolerance come into play here?

Richard said:
I been thinkin agin. It seems whenever the pilot who is flying pulls or pushes a couple Gs the pax gets kinda queasy. Nevermind that the pax is a rated pilot and the maneuvers have been briefed beforehand.

Well, I'm still a newbie, but here goes. When I take my husband doing aerobatics, sometimes his stomach bothers him (I told him not to eat so much before we went!). He also took a lesson with Greg Koontz when we were down there for my training a few weeks ago. They spent an hour with Tom at the controls doing rolls and loops and spins after a HUGE heavy breakfast and his stomach didn't bother him at all. I have read that a person is somewhat less likely to get queasy if they are at the controls.

Diana said:
I have read that a person is somewhat less likely to get queasy if they are at the controls.

There's definitely some truth to that. It even applies to other forms of motion sickness such as riding in a car vs driving. I know of at least one pretty good aerobatic pilot / CFI who doesn't like to teach acro because that makes him sick, so it doesn't necessarily ever go away.

It is generally harder to tolerate a ride through aerobatic maneuvers than it is to fly them. Even if you know the sequence of manuevers, it's more difficult to anticipate the onset of Gs and changes in attitude when you're hanging on than when you are making the control inputs that induce the effects. And some pilots are smoother than others.